JPIM Reviewer Development Program

The JPIM Reviewer Development Program program offers the opportunity to enhance scholarly skills by improving critical thinking, domain knowledge, and research capabilities through reviewing for reputable journals. The program is open to advanced doctoral students, postdoctoral associates, and untenured professors, with preference given to those with diverse reviewing experience and a strong publication record. Interested participants can apply by September 1st, 2023. Successful candidates will be notified by mid-September. Read the Call for Participants (pdf).

TIM & Organization Science: Virtual Research Workshop

The AOM TIM Division, in collaboration with the journal Organization Science, recently organized a virtual research workshop, aimed at giving early-career technology and innovation scholars the opportunity to receive high-quality feedback on their ongoing work. Markus Perkmann, Hila Lifshitz- Assaf and I would like to thank a great line-up of mentors, without whom this event would not have been possible. A huge thank you to Sue Cohen, Florence Honore, Astrid Marinoni, Joost Rietveld, Hyunjin Kim, Valentina Tartari, Michael Roach, Daniel Armanios, Timothy Ott, and Dmitry Sharapov, who offered their time to review and discuss the research projects of a diverse group of early-career scholars. Thank you also to Lamar Pierce, editor-in-chief of Organization Science, for sharing his insights on publishing in the journal.  See LinkedIn post.

Academy of Management 2023

2023 TIM Division Plenary

Watch the 2023 TIM Division's Plenary on The Reasons Behind the Recent Decline in High-Impact Discoveries. The session was moderated by Myriam Mariani (Bocconi University). Our panelists included Daron Acemoglu (Massachusetts Institute of Technology), Ashish Arora (Duke University), and Maryann Feldman (Arizona State University). See the recording. Link to the presentation slides.

2023 TIM Division Best Dissertation Award

View the award-winning presentations from the TIM Division's 2023 Best Dissertation Award ceremony: Jung Kwon (The University of Denver), Ying Li (Universidad Carlos III de Madrid), Manav Raj (University of Pennsylvania), Jungkyu Suh (New York University), Audra Wormald (University of North Carolina). See the recording.

We are grateful to our sponsors for making this happen.

Sponsors 2023


2023 TIM Distinguished Scholar

The TIM Division was proud to present the 2023 TIM Distinguished Scholar, Professor Alfonso Gambardella, Bocconi University. Thank you for your wonderful and encouraging speech! See the recording.

2023 TIM Emerging Scholar

This session highlighted the work of the 2023 TIM Emerging Scholar Award winner, Assistant Professor Colleen Cunningham, University of Utah. Congratulations to this achievement! See the recording.

Recent Blogs List

  • Introducing Nevena Ivanović, PhD Candidate at the University of Groningen. Nevena also won the 2022 TIM Division Best Student ...

  • Here we have Aldona Kapacinskaite, Assistant Professor at the Department of Management and Technology at Bocconi University. ...

    1 person likes this.
  • And now we have Astrid Marinoni of Georgia Tech which is in Atlanta, Georgia. Astrid, you recently won the Best Dissertation ...

  • Let us introduce Raffaele Conti of ESSEC Business School which is northwest of Paris in Cergy-Pontoise, France. Raffaele, ...

Join the Conversation

  • Apologies for cross-posting Insper Institute of Education and Research invites applications for full-time, research-oriented ...

  • (posted on behalf of colleagues - please direct any questions to the organizers of the workshop) Invitation to the ...

  • Call for Participants JASEIN summit Junior Academics in Strategy, Entrepreneurship and Innovation in the Netherlands ...

Announcements List

  • 2023 MCD Awards Recognition

    Check out our post celebrating the award winners and nominees at the 2023 AOM annual meeting.

  • MED Teaching Bootcamp: My experience and the great outcome: Natalie Marie Schneider

    I attended the MED division annual teaching bootcamp at AOM 2022, which included breakout groups covering active learning, group projects, and syllabus policies. Each of these breakout groups taught lessons I incorporated into my teaching style and strategies.

    The active learning table taught how to utilize active learning activities, such as gallery walks and think-pair-share, as a way to break out of the mundane and repetitive slide-based lecture. I have incorporated these activities into every class meeting I’ve taught since, as students show excitement and interest in class content and are able to actively apply the course lessons. The group projects table taught strategies to make what students might usually dread into a fun, meaningful learning experience. This table emphasized the instructor’s role as a leader in group management and connecting projects to something students can take away at the end of the semester. My students now work together by applying learning concepts from the course to publish podcast recordings. Lastly, the syllabus table helped me build a syllabus that addresses the major concerns of most instructors, while balancing the needs of students. My syllabus now includes classroom discussion agreements and a diversity statement to provide the basis for a psychologically safe environment.

    Since incorporating what I learned from the MED division teaching bootcamp, I’ve been able to share these lessons by presenting at several teaching-based conferences. I earned the Lubar College of Business Outstanding Doctoral Student Teaching Award. I have also won three Gold Star Teaching Awards from my college, which are awarded to the instructors who received the highest teaching evaluations for a given semester. As a PhD student competing for the award with tenured faculty, this is a tremendous and exciting accomplishment.

    Thank you to the MED division for hosting such helpful teaching development opportunities!

An Official Division of