Message Image  

Annual Meeting


What's New for AOM 2021 - An Improved Virtual Experience


In 2020, the Academy of Management pushed the boundaries of what the Annual Meeting could achieve by gathering virtually to network and share research in new and exciting ways. The unique circumstances of AOM 2020 inspired attendees to engage with research – and with one another – in a novel setting, prompting an unparalleled level of interaction and accessibility.

As we look ahead to AOM 2021, we are excited to share some innovations based on your feedback and suggestions that will make this year’s virtual Annual Meeting an even better experience for connecting, engaging, and learning:

  • A Preview Day on Thursday, 29 July will offer an opportunity for attendees to get oriented to the virtual platform and receive training to help you get the most out of your experience.
  • A new Consortium Day is being developed to allow for broader audience participation – you will no longer need to choose between your favorite PDW and DIG consortium!
  • 75% of sessions will be live (synchronous), giving you the opportunity engage in real-time, while still giving you the option to watch session recordings at your convenience after the session has taken place.
  • With sessions of all types being scheduled during each of the meeting’s five days, arranging your own conference schedule will be easier and more flexible than ever.
  • Tiered registration rates, including an additional early registration option.
  • Opportunities to engage socially with other attendees.

We look forward to having you join us for the 81st Annual Meeting of the Academy of Management!

2020 – Virtual – TIM Program Highlights

Best Paper Award

Ann-Kathrin Leiting, Bart Clarysse, and Jana Thiel (ETH Zürich)
Best Paper Finalists

Matthias Dorner (Institute for Employment Research Nuremberg), Fabian Gaessler (Max Planck Institute for Innovation and Competition), Dietmar Harhoff (Max Planck Institute for Innovation and Competition), Karin Hoisl (Mannheim University), and Felix Poege (Max Planck Institute for Innovation and Competition)
Reinhold Kesler (University of Zurich), Michael Kummer (Unuversity of East Anglia), and Patrick Schulte (Deutsche Bundesbank)
Best Student Paper Sourobh Ghosh and Stefan Thomke (Harvard Business School)
Best Student Paper Finalists

Yun Hou and Ivan Png (National University of Singapore)
Sumeet Malik (IE Business School), Chandrika Rathee (IE Business School), and Taiyuan Wang (CEIBS)
Best Dissertation Award (Sponsored by Lazaridis Institute) Elie Sung (Georgia Institute of Technology now at HEC Paris)
Dissertation Award Finalists

Samuel Cummings (Washington University in St. Louis now at Johns Hopkins University)
Jean‐François Soublière (University of Alberta now at McGill University)
Joey van Angeren (Eindhoven University of Technology now at the Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam)
Past Chairs Emerging Scholar (Sponsored by Northeastern University) Florenta Tiodoridis (USC)
Best Reviewers Johnathan Cromwell**** (U. of San Francisco)
Joseph J. Cabral*** (Louisiana State U.)
Yevgen Bogodistov** (Frankfurt School of Finance & Management)
Fabian Reck** (U. of Bamberg)
Louisa Selivanovskikh** (Graduate School of Management, St. Petersburg State U.)
Yara Hamdan* (New York Institute of Technology)
Stefan Razinskas* (Freie U. Berlin)
Leo Schmallenbach* (Mannheim U.)
Maria Belen Alvarez (Faculty of Economic Sciences, National U. of the Center of the Buenos Ai)
Jithesh Arayankalam (IIMK)
Patrick Figge (U. of Passau)
Andrew Jay Isaak (U. of Mannheim)
Stijn Kelchtermans (KU Leuven)
Nicolette Lakemond (Linköping U.)
Keld Laursen (Copenhagen Business School)
Kevin Woojin Lee (New York U.)
Jack A. Nickerson (Washington U. at St. Louis)
Quentin Plantec (MINES ParisTech, PSL U., Centre for Management Science, i3 UMR CNRS)
Gernot Pruschak (U. of Vienna)
David K. Reetz (Technical U. of Munich)
Tobias Roeth (U. of Kassel)
Tarek H. Selim (World Economic Forum)
Beverly B. Tyler (North Carolina State U.)
Lisa Vander (Saint Mary’s U. of Minnesota)
Wei Wang (School of Management, Xi’an Jiaotong U.)
**** Since 2016; *** Since 2017; ** Since 2018; * Since 2019
Distinguished Speaker (Sponsored by Wiley) Raghu Garud
Plenary Session (Sponsored by Triple-I Research Project) Immigration and Innovation
Program Chair Janet Bercovitz (Colorado U)

Key Dates
for AOM 2021

12 January 2021
Submission Deadline

21 January - 1 March 2021
Review Period

March 2021
Registration Opens

April 2021
Submission Decisions Announced

May 2021
Program Announcement

29 July-4 August 2021
Annual Meeting